Skip to content

Stockbroken

November 16, 2010

What happened to my stocks? The same thing that happened to my stockings: they’re shot.

But that’s OK, because I have a high risk tolerance, or so says my stockbroker. He gave me a quiz.

The quiz said: At which point will you throw up?  How will you feel watching your stock plummet and dive, gasp for air, hurl itself around the chart, rise like a Phoenix only to topple like a small lost empire, flag, dip, beg for mercy (if only it could), get some color in its cheeks, seem to be coming back, then get pale again? I think those were the questions. Something like that.

Are you going to look away, have a stiff drink, and wait it out? Or are you going to pick up the phone and scream: Sell this sucker! Get rid of it!  Are you going to wonder if you know enough about the world? Are you going to ask yourself if you are as smart as the smartest people who never seem to agree? Are you going to wonder if you should get up a half an hour earlier and read a little more so you could sleep better during the time you are in bed? That’s the kind of risk tolerance I’m talking about: the kind that says, I can take it.

Maybe I’m not the type I thought I was. Or maybe this is just to test my mettle. Falling currency? Quantitative easing? Emerging markets? Aw heck. I won’t worry my pretty little head about it because the nice people at the bank gave me a quiz, I filled in the blanks and they know what they’re doing. I just have to be brave.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jan Baiden permalink
    November 17, 2010 2:54 pm

    Priceless title! Doesn’t this sum it all up.

Leave a Reply

