Skip to content

Settling

August 26, 2011

Something out of the ordinary happens and you need a new map.  Someone you love is hit by lightening. All of the things you were thinking prior to this seem ridiculous, miniscule.  Everything else seems heightened in importance: the sound of the waves (can we listen to it for a little while longer?), the face of a person you love looking at someone else, or even at their own reflection in the absence of a mirror, in the glass of an oven (yes, really, checking her hair) and everything formerly tangential seems rare and precious, like a stone and unlike a stone because — unlike a stone, which stays around — it is fleeting.  Heidegger wrote that the deer settle for a moment, a noise disturbs them and they scatter, then find a place to settle again until there is another noise; somehow they forget there will always be a noise to scatter them, and that forgetting is one of the great mercies of life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 3:58 pm

    I know what you’re going through:

    http://fastgrowtheweeds.com/2011/05/16/on-worst-case-scenarios/

  2. September 1, 2011 3:22 pm

    If forgetting is one of the great mercies, remembering has a bite taken away. No wonder memories are bittersweet.

    Lovely post.
    Robin

  3. Matt Nicodemus permalink
    September 13, 2011 12:14 pm

    I’ll be interested to learn more about this incident, and to know what you’re thinking and feeling two weeks after the fact. I’ve had some near-disastrous events in my life here in Taiwan, usually of the almost-hit-by-speeding-motor-vehicles variety, which were highly traumatic in the moment but then forgotten by then day’s end.

    Lyrics of a song I wrote back in the ’80s, entitled “A Song for My Lover, and for the Stranger in the Elevator with Me When the Nuclear Weapon Explodes”:

    If this were the last time I’d ever see you
    If death or distance were certainty
    I’d be all my love for you

    This may be the last time I’ll ever see you
    Who knows what may happen, few of us do
    So I’ll be all my love for you
    I am all my love for you

Leave a Reply

