Skip to content

Lower those eyebrows! ๏[-ิ_•ิ]๏

December 19, 2011

So I have a Blackberry (I know they’re passe, but I like the little elfin keyboard). I don’t want an IPhone. I JUST DON’T. I am getting by on the digital equivalent of table scraps but THAT’S OK WITH ME.  The thing is, all of a sudden my shift key stopped working. I KNOW, I KNOW: I could’ve called the helpline, or scrolled down the help forum, or visited my local Verizon store, but something about this little predicament amused me. I thought it was funny not to be able to accent my messages. Forget about emoticons, I can’t form a question. All of my texts are like ee cummings poems. It’s wonderful. I can play totally deadpan and ambiguous. It’s like being from another, more inscrutable race — it’s like, digitally speaking, I’m from Iceland. Or what I imagine being from Iceland is. Or Finland. It’s definitely not like being from Italy, where your hands spring up to help tell the story even and especially when you are driving, talking on the phone, or both. I feel understated and enigmatic, and when I have to spell out numbers (yes, it’s come to that), I feel I’ve sprung from another era. I must use words for everything. Even when I am talking about

Flipping over a table in anger: (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Putting the table back nicely: ┬──┬◡ノ(° -°ノ)

Throwing the guy who put the table back nicely: (╯°Д°)╯︵/(.□ . \)

Amazing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 10:55 am

    Michele, your latest entry has transported me into a new realm of symbolic existence! I must study and consider it extensively.

    In Taiwan, I’ve been doing just fine in some ways and JUST fine in others, getting along with a non-smart phone with no camera and only the special option to read what I write in Chinese or English, a Nokia, but now that I’m entering a new phase of existence here in Boulder, I think I’ll go smart, mainly so I can have a place to store contact info, notes, and miscellaneous items that, at present, all end up on countless little scraps of paper that may or may not get half-properly transcribed and filed for use. I do think the device will be able to help me live more effectively, and I also feel confident that I won’t get lost in overusing it, especially all those apps. I just don’t have the time or interest; I have more important things to do.

Leave a comment